Last Updated on June 25, 2008 by Paulette Brown-Hinds



Kappa Theta, UCRiverside graduates (l-r): DeJon Harris, Yasmeen Welton, and Letecia Vaca.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Eta Nu Omega Chapter, and the California Alliance of African American Educators collaborated to honor the academic achievements of several high school and college graduates in the Inland Empire at a Graduate Recognition Ceremony on Sunday, June 22, 2008 at the T. Hughes Memorial Center in San Bernardino.

Scholarship recipients (front row): Mya Keaton, Teuana Montgomery, Britnee Abbott, Lauren Smith. (back row) Vania Singleterry.

The California Alliance of African American Educators (CAAAE), represented by Regional Coordinator, Shalimar Anderson-Horsley, acknowledged seventeen graduating seniors and presented them with certificates of achievement from the organization while sharing their individual accomplishments with the audience. The students were: Marco Afolayan (Provisional Accelerated Learning), Kourtney Bell, (Eisenhower High), DeeRonn Booker and Rose Collins (Pomona High), Jasmine Culberson (Arroyo Valley High), Forell Foree and Cassandra Glover (La Sierra High), Mary Hebert (Norte Vista High), Juanita Hicks (Garey High), Wesley House and Brienna Watson (Milor High), Sheila Hull and Ashley Williams (Rialto High),  Shelton Miles and Thomasina Wallace (Diamond Ranch High), Christensen Sanders (Carter High) and special recognition to former Eisenhower High School student Dorothy Marshall, a 2008 Yale University graduate.

Graduate Recognition Committee (front row l-r): Tonia Causey-Bush, Mallanie Harris, Shalimar Horsley, Nellie Moore. (back row): Jenise Earl Bush, Linda Gaines-Brooks, Mariyon Thompson.

Each year Eta Nu Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. supports outstanding youth in Riverside and San Bernardino Counties by granting scholarships annually to further their education. At this year’s Graduate Recognition Ceremony six students received $13,000.00 in scholarships. The scholarship recipients were: Britnee Abbott (Perris High), Jesaka Davitt (Redlands High), Teuana Montgomery (Silverado High), Vania Singleterry (Vista Murrieta), Lauren Smith (San Gorgonio High) and Mya Keaton, (Cajon High) recipient of the first annual Ellase Stiggers Memorial Scholarship.

In addition the sorority recognized their own, including graduates of Kappa Theta, University of California Riverside, Rho Delta, California State University, San Bernardino, while also acknowledging the children of members recently graduating from high-school or college.

All the honorees received proclamations from area elected officials.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., the oldest greek-letter organization established by African American college-trained women is celebrating 100 years of service with activities highlighting its programs and legacy throughout the centennial year.

Eta Nu Omega Scholarship and Graduate Recognition Committees were chaired by sorority members, Tonia Causey-Bush, Ph.D. and Jenise Earl-Bush.